Know About Vehicle Homologation in India

What exactly is vehicle homologation?

Homologation is the procedure by which any official authority grants permission for something once it has passed the tight requirements imposed by the organization. The official authority might be a court of law, a government department, an academic organization, or anything else.

Before a car may be sold or marketed, its components must be certified by a number of government agencies. The method for approving a vehicle's components differs from one nation to the next. Different nations have different verification criteria. It is critical to verify the components before they are marketed combined in a vehicle. These mandatory inspections increase vehicle safety, safeguard the environment, and improve the quality of components and the manufacturing process. In India, vehicle homologation is required.

Before a vehicle can be sold or marketed, it must be homologated. The following is the method for vehicle homologation:

All vehicle components, such as lighting, mirrors, tires, and engines, must be inspected and validated.

The fitting of components in the vehicle is to be evaluated once the vehicle's components have been validated. This involves the installation of components such as the automobile audio system and electrical sub-assemblies. Following the testing and certification of the vehicle's components, the vehicle's systems are tested and approved. Vehicle systems such as brakes, exhaust emission, engine cooling, fuel supply, suspension, and steering systems must be checked to ensure appropriate operation. An approval is obtained if they meet the criteria of the tests performed.

The Whole Vehicle Type Approval (WVTA) test is the final test to be performed before the vehicle is approved for sale and marketing. It is sometimes referred to as the 'Vehicle Certification Test'.

The relevant authority verifies every component of the vehicle that is tested. The manufacturer will select the entity responsible for providing clearance to the specific component following the verification procedure. According to each applicable Central Motor Vehicle Rule (CMVR), 1989, the manufacturer will grant a system approval. The appropriate authority grants permission based on whether or not the specific component passes the test devised by the officially recognized organization. All permissions must be gathered before determining whether or not the vehicle's approval will be given.

The approval issued by the appropriate authorities will be valid in all of the countries listed in the approval report.

Vehicle components that have undergone testing

Vehicle items assessed throughout the verification process for certification by the competent authorities are grouped into four categories: passive safety, active safety, components and systems, and the environment. The following are the many objects that fall under the various categories:

  1. Passive security:
    • Passenger safety. A crash test verifies it.
    • Restraints for children.
    • We're working on seat belts.
  2. Active security:
    • System of steering
    • Braking system
    • The vehicle's general illumination.
    • The vehicle's horn
    • The vehicle's mirrors.
    • The triangle of danger.
    • The vehicle's wheels.
    • The vehicle's fuel tank.
    • The back-up camera system.
  3. Environment:
    • The amount of fuel used by the vehicle.
    • The quantity of pollution that the vehicle emits.
    • Noise emission.
    • EMC.

    In India, professional authorities execute automobile homologation.

  4. The following are the professional authorities in India that perform car homologation:

You might also like