The Delhi government plans to add 1,500 low-floor electric buses to its fleet.

The Delhi government has authorized the addition of 1,500 low-floor electric buses to the city's public transit network. Under the Delhi EV Policy 2020, the Delhi Transport Corporation (DTC) has agreed to allot 10 locations to various organizations for the establishment of Electric Vehicle (EV) charging stations and battery swapping stations to help in the functioning of these buses.

The municipal administration also approved the operation of 75 inter-state buses on 11 routes spanning five states and a Union Territory. Ambedkar Nagar Depot, Jal Vihar Terminal, Dilshad Garden Terminal, Karawal Nagar Terminal, Shadipur Depot, Mayapuri Depot, Bindpur Terminal, East Vinod Nagar, Punjabi Bagh, and Rohini Depot-I are the ten sites that have been allocated to various service providers for the establishment of EV charging and battery swapping stations.

Delhi Transco Limited (DTL) has picked four service providers through a competitive bidding procedure who will shortly sign a deal with Delhi Transport Corporation (DTC) to put up EV charging and battery swapping stations. The DTC Board also agreed to provide preliminary clearance to the purchase of 75 Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) standard floor buses for interstate operations.

These buses would run on 11 routes in five states, including Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Haryana, Punjab, and Chandigarh, connecting Delhi with Rishikesh, Haridwar, Dehradun, Haldwani, Agra, Bareilly, Lucknow, Jaipur, Chandigarh, Panipat, and Patiala.

Furthermore, the DTC board voted to increase the stipend offered to women undergoing training for contract driving positions from 6,000 to 12,000 per month with an Heavy Motor Vehicle (HMV) driving license.

You might also like