Delhi's e-bus fleet will grow to 302 with the addition of 150 new vehicles this month.

Another 150 electric buses will join the road this month. The Rajghat depot has been rebuilt to house these vehicles, in addition to the operating electric bus depots at Mundhela Kalan and Rohini Sector 37.

The Delhi Transport Corporation now has 152 e-buses in its fleet. The Delhi government said on Wednesday that 150 more will arrive in July. "When the next batch of electric buses comes in July, the Rajghat depot will be operational. There was some work still to be done at the third facility, but it is now finished," told transport minister Kailash Gahlot.

Gahlot had performed an examination at the Rajghat depot earlier this month. Around 50 buses from one manufacturer are likely to be parked there, while 100 buses from the other manufacturer will be placed at Mundela Kalan and Rohini Sector 37.

The Delhi government has said that all planned depots would be completely electric. The Delhi cabinet has approved the introduction of 1,500 electric buses, in addition to 450 Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) powered buses. 12 depots have been prioritised to accommodate the 1,500 electric buses and will be fully powered by June 2023.

You might also like